StarDodgeBall
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tournament?

4 posters

Go down

Tournament? Empty Tournament?

Post  PierceSc2 Thu Jan 31, 2013 4:56 pm

We should organize a tournament! 2v2 would be easy to set up~

PierceSc2

Back to top Go down

Tournament? Empty Re: Tournament?

Post  rut Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:36 am

I'd be all for a tournament! Thing is I don't have any experience setting something like that up. I agree, however, that 2v2 would probably be the way to go so that we get a higher number of entrants.

Do you have any ideas of a good format? I'm thinking something along the lines of having a month to sign up, then giving a week for each round to be played and the replays sent in, or something like that. What do you think?
rut
rut
Admin

https://stardodgeball.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Post  PierceSc2 Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:21 am

yeah i have plenty of experience running tournaments.

We should do single elimination bo1. That is you only play one game and if you lose you are eliminated from the tournament.

we can use http://challonge.com/ to set up brackets (8 teams/16 people would be good)

I have no idea how many people will want to play so I think we should start with a small 2v2 tourney to see the interest level. We can always bump down to a 4 team tourney or even bump up to 16 teams if the interest level is high.

I think we can just have a set time for the tournament and just run it. If there are 8 teams that is a total of 7 matches (round 1 is 4 simultaneous matches, round 2 is 2 simultaneous matches , then the final) Something like saturday noon would work well. If you do it by scheduling its going to get really really stretched out and never complete lol. On the other hand, having a set time excludes some people.

You could have a link in the splash screen for the game that announces the tournament.

PierceSc2

Back to top Go down

Post  rut Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:53 am